So that was 2013…

20131231_175519

It’s almost time for me to start cooking New Year’s Eve supper and get ready to head to the pub, but I just wanted to write a quick post to wish you all a very happy and sucessful 2014. Hope you had an enjoyable and restful festive period as well.

I’m going to follow in lots of my fellow blogger’s footsteps and do a quick round up of my writing achievements this year. My main New Year’s Resolution is to be brighter and more positive in my outlook, so in the spirit of this endeavour, we’ll tactfully not talk about the fact that I haven’t completed the first draft of my children’s book yet (though I’m getting there) or that I haven’t yet broken in to Take a Break’s Fiction Feast.

I’m going to focus on the good stuff and feel proud of myself all over again:

Short Stories – two sales to Woman’s Weekly, one to The People’s Friend and one to The Weekly News (see the photo above). I was really delighted to receive acceptances from two new publications this year 🙂

I also had a short story included in the ‘Came as Me, Left as We‘ anthology, published by Alfie Dog.

Competition wise, I was shortlisted in one of the Flash 500 competitions and had the same story longlisted in The Writing Competition as well. I made the shortlist with a different story in The Yellow Room Flash Fiction competition too. Joining in with the Write Invite weekly competitions also saw me winning the contest one week and placing third in it another time.

Non Fiction – Prima Magazine published my little filler about falling for Leonardo Di Caprio when I was sixteen.

It’s fair to say that the second half of 2013 was a LOT better than the first. I had months and months of nothing and more nothing until things finally picked up around May/June time. It just goes to show – write, write and never give up. Yes, rejections sting but they also make the sales and successes all the sweeter.

Here’s to a hopeful 2014. Have a wonderful time, whatever you’re doing and wherever you are. 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “So that was 2013…

Leave a Reply

