Embarrassed Face…

My delight in reaching the shortlist in the Write Invite competition the other week, with my story, ‘Mother Hettie’s Old Stew Pot’ was tainted slightly as it was absolutely RIDDLED with mistakes. As you only get half an hour to write and submit your story, the odd typo is very forgiveable, but still, this one left me extremely red in the face.

For a start, I messed up my tenses mid-paragraph and I was so busy fretting over that when I read it back through, that I missed the real howler of the story.

“Um,” started my beloved husband a little nervously, as he read over the story after the competition had finished.

“Yes, I know that the tenses are all wrong,” I answered crossly.

“No, it’s not that. Did you mean to write spew pot instead of stew pot?” he replied, finally allowing himself a bit of a chuckle.

“What the ……..????”

You can guess the rest.

Yes. I wrote spew pot instead of stew pot in a story that went on to be shortlisted and read and judged by everyone who had taken part in the competition!! Truly, only I could do that!

“But it’s still a good story,” my husband tried to reassure me (in between guffaws). Hmmm… yes, if there’s any silver lining at all, it’s that in spite of my unfortunate mistake, the judges still saw something in my writing. To be honest though, I’ve written a couple of Write Invite stories recently that I’ve felt really proud of. They may not have been quite perfect, but they certainly didn’t contain any errors of this enormity. Both placed 4th in the rankings and I do wish that one of them, rather than this one had made the top 3. Oh well, you can’t have everything!

(And it placed 3rd, of course. I really never expected it to win!)

Feel free to laugh at me.

Well, we’re getting to the end of the year and I’m doing all I can to keep motivated and stay focused on my writing with all the Christmas preparation to do. I also have several short story ideas floating around in my head and plan to harness some of them and pin them down on paper before they escape 🙂

Hope your Christmas preparations are going well and that you’re finding time to write too.

4 thoughts on “Embarrassed Face…

  1. That will be your brain working too fast. Happens to all of us at some point (and some of us have been known to submit those stories to editors – blush).

  2. Alice, I’m not laughing at you – in fact, I think the odd typo/tense mix-up shows that you genuinely wrote that story in the half hour allotted! I’m afraid, being the old cynic that I am, I sometimes think that the stories that are placed or that eventually win the weekly Write Invite competition are cut-and-pasted (either partly or completely) from existing stories!! Gasp! How controversial of me! But, honestly, some of them are just too perfect, too polished. Be proud that you entered in the spirit of the competition and did very well to be shortlisted! I feel you’re not far off from a first place now…! good luck! x

  3. Thanks, Helen. You’ve done a great job of making me feel better! I know what you mean about some of those winning stories – I can’t quite believe they’ve been written in half an hour either, though the competition really does rely on people being honest and entering into the spirit doesn’t it? Still annoying though! x

Leave a Reply

