Looking Forward to Caerleon

IMG00036-20120724-1343

Ooooh, not long to go now – It’s almost time for Caerleon Writers’ Holiday and I’m so looking forward to it. Last year was my first visit and I spent most of my time trying desperately to soak up every last bit of writerly advice and DO everything in the programme… It was brilliant but I did burn out half way through. This year, I’m going for a no less productive but hopefully more restful approach. Oh, and I’m taking my friend, Sian – hopefully she’ll enjoy it just as much as me 🙂

There’s another reason for me wanting a quieter time… things are so hectic here!! I’ll be leaving my husband with an awful lot of work to do as we’re moving house at the moment… and I know it’s selfish, but I’m really looking forward to some time away from it all.

My plans for the week are as follows:

– Attend both sets of morning workshops but be a bit more sparing with the afternoon talks and after-tea sessions, just to give my brain a bit of a rest.

-Use the afternoons and after-tea time to write – both my stories and novel have become neglected due to all that’s going on. I didn’t find my small and rather hot student bedroom particularly inspiring last year (though it’s fine for a place to rest up at night) so I’ll head to one of the cafes either on campus or off (you know how I love my cafe writing!) and do some work in there.

– Buy lots of books both in the book room and at Hay. (I’ve saved up especially!)

– Get out and see a bit of Caerleon itself – apart from Hay, the only time I left the campus last time was to go on the pub crawl!!

– Take some insect repellent (I got bitten to shreds last year…)

– Enjoy the food (and bar!) at Caerleon as this is my only trip away this summer.

If you’re coming to Caerleon this year, I’ll see you there 🙂

10 thoughts on “Looking Forward to Caerleon

  1. Hi Alice. I’m not going to Caerleon this year – boo hoo! So there won’t be a quiz on the first night. Sorry. But, having just been to Italy, I can’t do both, so having to give it a miss. But I’m going to really miss it! Have a brilliant time! If you go into Caerleon, the Roman baths museum is definitely worth a visit!

  2. Ah, I was looking forward to seeing you, Helen and to the quiz! But, yes, I know that you’re only just back from Italy, so very understandable. I was reading about Arte Umbria and your holiday on your blog – it sounds amazing. I must try and do it sometime, if Sue runs the course again.
    Yes, I’d really like to get to the Roman baths this year.

  3. Shame we didn’t meet up last year 😦 and I won’t be going this year (can’t keep deserting the family). But I’m off to Swanwick in a couple of weeks and I know what you mean, oooooo, peace lol

    Have a great time honey xx

  4. Ah, thanks Vikki. Have a lovely time at Swanwick – hope to see you there one year.

    Thanks, Captain Black – lovely to meet you too. I’m already trying to weave in as much ‘uncanniness’ as possible into my stories!

Leave a Reply

