A Year in Books

Books

Happy New Year! Hope you all had a really good festive season šŸ™‚ Mine was spent with family, friends and a lot of food and drink!

Did you read any good books over Christmas? Throughout the year, I like to keep a log of all the books I’ve read. I do this partly because I’ll forget what I’ve read if I don’t and because I like to make sure that I read at least thirty books a year. As an aspiring writer, it’s very important that I keep reading a wide variety of fiction plus it’s a huge passion of mine too (always has been!).

Anyway, I thought I’d share my 2012 booklist here, with my favourites in bold type.

1. The Sirens of Baghdad by Yasmina Khadra

2. The Aspern Papers by Henry James

3. The Turn of the Screw by Henry James

4. The Running Vixen by Elizabeth Chadwick

5. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

6. Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler

7. Mrs. Dewinter by Susan Hill

8. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

9. Billy the Kid by Michael Morpurgo

10. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

11. She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb

12. Sister by Rosamund Lupton

13. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson

14. The Rose of Sebastopol by Katharine McMahon

15. The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

16. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling (reread)

17. Jamrach’s Menargarie by Carol Birch

18. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

19. Stormswept by Helen Dunmore

20. The Little Friend by Donna Tartt

21. White by Rosie Thomas

22. Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman

23. Possession by A.S Byatt

24. The Casual Vacancy by J.K Rowling

25. Dark Matter by Michelle Paver

26. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

27. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

28. After Dark by Haruki Murakami

29. Solar by Ian McEwan

30. The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood

31. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling (reread)

(Plus many, many magazine short stories and a few very short children’s books for research.)

So, there you go! Here’s to a whole new year of reading šŸ™‚ And writing of course. I’ve been having a good think about some writing resolutions – I’m going to keep them quite quick, simple, and hopefully realistic too…

1. To write more short stories and have at least twenty stories ‘out there’ at any one time.

2. To enter more short story competitions.

3. To have a first draft of my children’s book finished by the end of the year (that’s the big one…)

4. To read more ‘How to Write’ books.

Anyway, I wish everyone a peaceful and prosperous new year – hope it brings good things to us all šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Year in Books

  1. Interesting list Alice…some familiar and some not so. I made resolution half way through 2012 to try to alternate familiar authors with indie and new authors to me. I find goodreads helps in keeping an on going record. I’ afraid I’m not so good at putting it up to date all the time but sometimes I do a blitz of review. Good luck with your children’s book and short stories.

Leave a Reply

