Happy Advent!

Advent Calendar

And here’s my Advent Calendar! (yes, I’m an adult with no children, just a big kid at heart!) A paper one though, I never buy anything but! Now, I love chocolate more than almost everyone else I know, yet I’ve always felt the need to buy myself a traditional, paper advent calendar every year. I had a pop up one as a child which told the story of the nativity. Once Christmas was over, my Mum would just close the windows up  and I would enjoy it all over again the following year! I can still remember what was behind some of the windows… For a time, it was pretty hard to find non-choc calendars, but I was really pleased to see a few in WH Smiths this year and quickly picked one up to go with my writing and fiction magazines!

For me, there’s something lovely about opening a window each day in a countdown to Christmas. Even though now I’m (supposedly) a grown-up, it’s usually met with panic when I realise how much I still have to do… I also can’t believe that Christmas is coming round again so quickly. This year has gone by incredibly quickly for me, yet a lot has happened… Whilst not all of it has been happy, there’s been some brilliant times too – my first publication and commercial sale, going to Caerleon Writers’ Holiday, some brilliant workshops, meeting other writers and actually gaining some confidence in my writing for the first time, which led me to start this blog! I know I have a lot to learn too though and will be making myself some goals for 2013…

To get started, I’ve already decided that I’m going to have a go at these competitions:

Swanick Writers’ Summer School Competition

Choc Lit Winter Competition

The Bath Short Story Award This is rather a prestigious one, still, someone has to win!

– Good luck if you decide to have a go too.

2 thoughts on “Happy Advent!

Leave a Reply

